Despite the claim made by this article, this was not the "first wireless dance"--two previous examples occurred in Morrisville, New Jersey in December, 1916 and Oakland, California in February, 1920.
Lowell (Massachusetts) Sun, April 7, 1920, page 1, 8:


Music  for  Dance  in  Associate  Hall  Furnished  by  Wireless

History  Making  Event  Under  Auspices  of  the  Lowell  Radio  Club
Everett E. Taylor Walter J. Butterworth     Lowell stands today preeminent over every other municipality in the United States, possibly in the world, distinguished by the privilege of having the first public demonstration of the practicability of the wireless telephone which was given last evening as a novel and unique feature of the dancing party under the auspices of the Lowell Radio club in Associate hall. During the evening selections of music were reproduced by wireless telephone and at 11:30 Mayor Thompson delivered an impromptu speech which was reproduced with such naturalness and so clearly in the dance hall, that the listeners were astonished.
    The people who attended throughout the evening, numbering about 1000, were given the opportunity of being the first in the country to dance to music transmitted by wireless in public, but just as a wave of speculation and doubt precedes any advancement which has the tinge of the unusual, they were backward in swinging onto the floor to the lilt of wireless music. The music was sent from an aeolian vocalion through a transmitter in the Radio club rooms in the Dartmouth building adjoining the Y.M.C.A. and thence in ether waves through the air and through the walls of the Associate building to an aerial stretched lengthwise in the hall inside. The aerial in the hall was connected with receiving apparatus and a very strong amplifier set up on a stage which increased the volume of sound waves and sent them out reproductive of the natural music or voice from the club. Two horns, constructed on the same vibrating principle as the telephone and erected on either side of the stage, flooded the hall with the reproduced sounds.
    The receiving and intensifying set on the stage was operated by Everett E. Taylor, president of the Radio club and the apparatus in the club rooms by Leo Jarrett and Arthur W. S. Davis. The demonstration of the wireless telephone consisted of introductory remarks delivered by one of the operators at the transmitter at the club, followed by several musical selections, including dance numbers, which were all reproduced exactly as played and loud enough to be heard in the most remote corner of the hall. When the first dance number was wirelessed the dancers hung back, either unwilling to take the floor or unappreciative of the marvelous scientific demonstration being executed.
    Two couples mustered up sufficient courage, however, and took the floor witnessed and marked by the distinction of being the first, as said before, in the United States, possibly in the world, to dance in public to music transmitted by wireless. They were Donald Wirt and Anna McCoy, Almon Boutwell and Madeline Warren.
    At 11.30 o'clock the receiving operator turned the instruments and reproduced the call from the club rooms, "Hello, Associate hall, hello Associate hall! Mayor Thompson is ready to speak." At this announcement all gathered about the two horns and Mayor Thompson spoke in the Dartmouth building in part as follows: "This indeed is the most unique deed I have been called upon to perform in all my life. During my administration as mayor of the city I have been asked to do many particular things and tonight it gives me great pleasure in being afforded the opportunity of talking to you by means of what seems an almost impossible medium. As you may know I flew over the city in an aeroplane. I have also been under water in a submarine, but this seems to be the crowning feature of my adventures--talking through a wireless telephone. Fifty years ago such an accomplishment was beyond the dreams of man; but tonight we all witness the first public demonstration of its practicability ever given. I offer my congratulations to the club for its success. Its use only gives more evidence of what a wonderful country this is. I thank you all for your attention."
    None in the audience doubted that Mayor Thompson was speaking by wireless telephone as they recognized his characteristic accents and manner of speech.
    During the evening when the demonstrations were not being given dance music was provided by Miner-Doyle's orchestra. The hall was profusely decorated.
    The Lowell Radio club is an association of Lowell young men who are interested in the game of wireless, some of them having served during the war either as radio operators on the seas or abroad, and who are associated with the American Radio Relay League of America, the officers of which include such men as Hudson Maxim, the inventor of the Maxim silencer and other scientific developments.
    The event was witnessed by prominent wireless men from Boston among whom were Morton Beane, radio inspector for Boston, Mr. D. F. Pitts, president of the Eastern Radio Institute, Guy R. Entwistle of the Massachusetts Radio school and Mr. Cheetham of the Independent Radio Telegraph company.
    The officers of the dance were:
    William H. Carney, general manager; Everett E. Taylor, assistant general manager; David R. Hanson, floor director; Edward J. Hanson, assistant; Charles W. Lombard, Jr., chief aid; aids, all club members: Walter J. Butterworth, radio director; chief operators, Charles H. McMaster, Arthur W. S. Davis, Frederick C. Bowditch, Jr., John E. McMastier, Leslie W. Atkinson, Everett E. Taylor, Leo Jarrett, Stuart M. Briggs, William F. Coppen, Ralph Y. Scott. Committees: Finance, Caleb F. Rogers, chairman; Bradford M. Dunn, William F. Atherton; publicity, William H. Carney, chairman; Leslie W. Atkinson, E. Sterling Pratt, Warren R. Entwistle; decorations, Charles F. Emerson, chairman; Thomas Connor, Edmund Buckley; program, Randolph B. Reed, chairman; Haven G. Moody, Frank W. Carlson.
    The members of the Lowell Radio club are: Everett E. Taylor, president; Ralph Y. Scott, vice president; William H. Carney, secretary; Caleb F. Rogers, treasurer; associate directors, Walter J. Butterworth, E. Sterling Pratt, Leo F. Jarrett, David R. Hanson, Edward J. Hanson; Leslie W. Atkinson, sergeant-at-arms; William F. Atherton, Stuart M. Briggs, Frederick C. Bowditch, Jr., Edmund Buckley, Thomas F. Garden, Frank W. Carlson, William F. Coppen, Thomas Connor, Arthur W. S. Davis, Bradford M. Dunn, Charles F. Emerson, Warren R. Entwistle, James Harkins, John Joyce, Jr., Howard W. Lewis, Charles W. Lombard, Jr., Charles H. McMaster, George Milne, Haven G. Moody, Murray Pratt, Dr. John R. De La Parra, Randolph B. Reed, G. Emmett Roberts, Paul Topjian, Arthur Trenholm, James Wiley, John E. McMastier.